The Mulrooney & Bainrot Medal Award Winners 2018

Kel Evans and Britt Tully were crowned the Mulrooney Medallist and Mary Ann Bainrot Medallist respectively on Monday night at the AFL Canberra Mulrooney Medal Presentation Night.

It was a close finish in the Men’s Best & Fairest Vote Count, with Queanbeyan Tigers Kel Evans, pipping Captain’s Josh Bryce at the post with a best on ground performance in Round 14 to claim the Mulrooney Medal with 15 votes. Tony Wynd, four time Mulrooney Medalist from Queanbeyan Tigers was there to present Kel with this prestigious award.

Gungahlin Jets, Britt Tully held a strong lead throughout the season, finishing on 23 points, with the runner up, Katie Rose from Eastlake falling on 18 votes. This is Britt’s third year as the Mary Ann Bainrot Medallist.

Ainslie’s Matthew Thompson won the J. McNamara Medal for best and fairest in the second grade competition as he turns his attention to producing another premiership at the Tricolours’ flag factory.

Eastlake Demons prospect James McCormack has reaffirmed his status as a player to watch after clinching the T.A. Wharton Medal for the Rising Stars competition.

Molonglo Juggernauts veteran Simon McPherson claimed a third consecutive J.P O’Dea Medal to win third grade’s best and fairest award, this time splitting the honours with Cootamundra’s James Finucane.

Goulburn Swans star Simon Treloar claimed best and fairest honours in fourth grade.

Queanbeyan’s Rising Stars mentor Chris Clifton won the coach of the year gong to cap off a stellar night for the Tigers after they claimed the club championship.


First grade – Ainslie Tricolours v Eastlake Demons at Manuka Oval, 2.30pm.
Second grade – Queanbeyan Tigers v Ainslie Tricolours at Manuka Oval, 12pm.
Rising Stars – Queanbeyan Tigers v Ainslie Tricolours at Manuka Oval, 9.30am.
Women’s first grade – Eastlake Demons v Queanbeyan Tigers at Manuka Oval, 6pm.
All games on Sunday.

Grand finals for men’s third and fourth grade, as well as women’s second grade, will be played at Phillip Oval on September 22.

2018 Senior Competition Final Leader boards

See below for the full list of award winners from the night:

Grade Award Name Club
1st Grade Men’s Mulrooney Medal (Best and Fairest) Kel Evans Queanbeyan Tigers
Kevin Neale Leading Goal Kicker Hayden Armstrong Ainslie Tricolours
2nd Grade Men’s J.McNamara Medal (Best and Fairest) Matthew Thompson Ainslie Tricolours
Leading Goal Kicker Dean Lord Queanbeyan Tigers
CareSuper Rising Stars T.A. Wharton Medal (Best and Fairest) James McCormack Eastlake Demons
Leading Goal Kicker Will Taylor Queanbeyan Tigers
UNSW Canberra Second Grade Women’s Best and Fairest  Eliza Oates Riverina Lions
Leading Goal Kicker Jacqueline Parry ANU Griffins
3rd Grade Men’s J.P. O’Dea Medal (Best and Fairest) Simon McPherson Molonglo Juggernauts
J.P. O’Dea Medal (Best and Fairest) James Finucane Cootamundra Blues
Leading Goal Kicker James Finucane Cootamundra Blues
4th Grade Men’s Best and Fairest Simon Treloar Goulburn Swans
Leading Goal Kicker William Neate Goulburn Swans
UNSW Canberra First Grade Women’s Mary Ann Bainrot Medal (Best and Fairest) Brittany Tully Gungahlin Jets
Leading Goal Kicker Katie Rose Eastlake Demons
Junior Player of the Year Jayde Hamilton Queanbeyan Tigers
Rising Star Jacqueline Parry ANU Griffins
AFL Canberra Club Championship (Senior) Queanbeyan Tigers
Club Championship (Community) ANU Griffins
AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year Jenny Church ANU Griffins
Coach of the Year Chris Clifton Queanbeyan Tigers
Umpires Umpire of the Year Sam Hurford
The Rebecca Goddard Scholarship Robert Lightbody