Four to be inducted into AFL Canberra’s Hall of Fame in 2019

AFL Canberra will induct four players into the Football Hall of Fame to recognise their stellar contribution to our game in the nation’s capital.

Alan Ray (Three-time Ainslie Best & Fairest) will be inducted, along with the Joanne Foster (Vice Captain of the ACTW AFL Team of the Decade, 1998-2007), Brian Read (5 time AFL Canberra Representative) and four-time AFL Canberra premiership player Jason Gilbert.

The AFL Canberra Hall of Fame was established in 2006 and serves to recognise players, coaches, umpires, administrators, and media representatives who have made an outstanding contribution to Australian football in Canberra.

In the lead up to the 2019 Hall of Fame, AFL Canberra will feature each of the inductees outlining their entire contributions and achievements in the AFL Canberra community. A brief snapshot has been included below:

Meet the Inductees:

Alan Ray

Alan played a total of 186 senior games from 1951-1962 for Ainslie, winning the Best & Fairest in 1953, 1955 and 1961. Following his retirement Alan continued to play an integral role for Ainslie off the field, serving as a committee member, club president and secretary between 1958 and 1981.

Jason Gilbert

Jason played 242 senior games for Queanbeyan during which time he played in four premiership winning teams, claiming the Best & Fairest award in 1995, 2000 and 2002. During his time at the Tigers, Jason finished second in the Mulrooney Medal in 1995 and played 10 consecutive years of Representative football.

Joanne Foster

Joanne played 153 senior games in three separate stints for Belconnen (2000-11, 2013, 2015) winning back-to-back Best & Fairest awards in 2005 and 2006. Joanne represented the ACT from 2001 to 2003 before returning to the representative stage in 2005 and 2006. In 2007 she was named Vice Captain of the ACTW AFL Team of the Decade (1998-2007).

Brian Read

Brian played 139 senior games between 1966 – 1975 for the Ainslie Tricolours winning back-to-back Best & Fairest awards in 1971 and 1972. He played over five representative seasons for AFL Canberra and has held various coaching and administrative positions in the AFL Canberra Community. Brian was awarded life membership for the Belconnen Magpies in 1995 and inducted in to their Hall of Fame in 2018.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Induction Function will be held at Football Park on Friday the 26th of July from 6.00pm to 8.00pm. More details to come.

Keep up-to-date with all AFL Canberra related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.