Evans and Pease named in GIANTS’ AFLW Practice Match Squad

The GIANTS’ AFLW side will put boot to ball for the first time this year in a practice match against the Adelaide Crows in Adelaide this Sunday.

A squad of 27 has been named, including uncapped Canberra draftees Tarni Evans and Emily Pease.

Katherine Smith and Britt Tully – both recovering from knee injuries – will be rested for the official practice match as they continue their rehabilitation in a bid to be ready for round one.

The GIANTS have spent the past two weeks based in Albury before relocating to Adelaide on Friday.

Defender Lou Stephenson remained in Sydney for work commitments and is unavailable for the match, as is ruck Jess Allan. Allan had to return to Canberra for Australian Defence Force requirements but is able to re-join the group soon and will be available for round one.

Pip Peschke, from the Inner West Magpies in AFL Sydney, joined the squad during the Albury relocation as an interim replacement player for Stephenson and will play in the number 12 jumper on Sunday.

Peschke is a midfielder/forward who loves the contest on the inside. She’s a pressure player who can be dangerous playing as a small forward.

All AFLW practice matches this weekend will be closed to the public to protect players, staff and the community.

The team will remain in Adelaide following their practice match on Sunday to ensure they meet the current border restrictions in place to enter Western Australia for their round one match against the Dockers on January 31.

Adelaide Crows v GWS GIANTS

Practice Match – Sunday, January 17
Norwood Oval, Adelaide, South Australia


1 Emily Goodsir

2 Alicia Eva

3 Alyce Parker

5 Jodie Hicks

6 Rebecca Beeson

7 Jessica Dal Pos

8 Nicola Barr

9 Tanya Hetherington

11 Aimee Schmidt

12 Pip Peschke

13 Cora Staunton

14 Annalyse Lister

15 Bríd Stack

16 Taylah Davies

17 Georgia Garnett

18 Tarni Evans

19 Rebecca Privitelli

20 Lisa Steane

21 Pepa Randall

22 Elle Bennetts

23 Erin McKinnon

24 Haneen Zrieka

25 Erin Todd

30 Sarah Halvorson

32 Tait Mackrill

33 Emily Pease

37 Libby Graham

Premier Partners

Official Partners