ActewAGL Junior Presentation Night 2019

The 2019 ActewAGL AFL Canberra Juniors season has been celebrated with the annual Best and Fairest Presentation Night last Wednesday at the Canberra Southern Cross Club, Woden.

Celebrating the on-field performance and off-field excellence from players, clubs, umpires and committees alike, people from right across the competition were awarded for their spectacular efforts across the 2019 season.

Congratulations to Sophia De Castella who took home the coveted ActewAGL Junior Player of the Year award after finishing the season on an incredible 34 votes in the Girls Under 14’s competition.

Cameron Bernasconi, Talent Manager for ACT and SNSW, announced the 2019 CareSuper Future Stars Team of the Year, naming Gungahlin Jets, Sam Rubino as Captain. Rachel Dobing from CareSuper presented the selected players with their jumpers whilst Eastlake Demons’ Leo Lahey went back to back in his appointment as Coach.

Terry Pink from the Tuggeranong Bulldogs was recognised as the AFL Canberra Volunteer of the Year for his significant contribution to football in the ACT. Steve Coad, also from the Bulldogs received the accolade for Auskick Coordinator of the Year.

The annual Prime Ministers Trophy was awarded to the Weston Creek Wildcats after an exceptional year of growing the game and their inclusive attitude.

To see the full vote count leaderboard for our Best and Fairest Awards –CLICK HERE. 

Trophy Name Competition Winner/Club
Under 11’s Mixed Best and Fairest Nicholas Stephenson (Marist College) & Lincoln Asaris (Queanbeyan Tigers)
Ian Bayles Trophy Under 12’s Mixed Best and Fairest James Eppelstun (Queanbeyan Tigers) & Alexander Churches (Magpies Juniors)
Joe Flaherty Under 13’s Mixed Best and Fairest Riley Hamilton (Ainslie Black)
Geoff Smith Trophy Under 14’s Mixed Best and Fairest Marcus Ungar (Eastlake Demons)
Peter McGregor Trophy Under 15’s Boys Best and Fairest Lachlan Fitzpatrick (Queanbeyan Tigers)
Geoff Bartley Trophy Under 17’s Boys Best and Fairest Rex Donald (Eastlake Black), Thomas Simpson (Magpies Juniors) & Addison Vincent (Magpies Juniors)
Under 12’s Girls Best and Fairest Billie Hamilton (Ainslie Red) & Maggie Robinson (Queanbeyan Tigers)
Under 14’s Girls Best and Fairest Sophia de Castella (Ainslie Black)
Under 16’s Girls Best and Fairest Georgia Jaques (Ainslie Red)
CareSuper Rising Stars Women’s Best and Fairest Cynthia Hamilton (Queanbeyan Tigers)
Best First Year Umpire George Wawn
Most Improved Umpire James Vandermee
Ross Norgate Trophy Most Dedicated Umpire Steven Magnussen
Junior Umpire of the Year Ryan Stilwell
ActewAGL Player of the Year Junior League Player of the Year Sophia de Castella (Ainslie Black)
Auskick Coordinator of the Year Steve Coad (Tuggeranong Bulldogs) 
Prime Minister’s Trophy Club Of The Year Weston Creek Molonglo Wildcats
Coach of the Year Coach of the Year – Junior Marcus Broers (Weston Creek Molonglo Wildcats)
AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year Terry Pink (Tuggeranong Bulldogs

Congratulations to all award winners and participants from across the 2019 AFL Canberra Juniors season.

Keep up-to-date with all #AFLCanberra related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter