NAB League: Seven Canberra Players named in GIANTS team

The  GIANTS Academy have officially announced their teams set to play in their inaugural NAB League matches this Saturday at Blacktown against the Brisbane Lions Academy at 11.55am.

As announced in early March, the NAB League is the new Under 18s Boys and Girls AFL competition, formerly known as the TAC Cup in Victoria. In changes to the structure of the talent pathway competition, teams from Victoria, Tasmania, Northern Territory, New South Wales, the ACT and Queensland will be all included, as opposed to the original competition which included Victorian teams only.

The GIANTS Academies will both play the first of their five matches in the 2019 NAB League, this Saturday, March 30 at Blacktown International Sportspark. The Gold Coast Academy and Northern Territory will also feature in this triple-header of Under-18 talent.

For the GIANTS, a host of 2018 Allies and Under 17s Rams have been named.

Eastlake’s Tom Green will look to continue his 2018 form as he enters his Draft year. After a pre-season which included training with the GIANTS senior side where he took out the 2km time trial, Gungahlin’s Matt McGory will also be looking for results.

Harry Grant (Queanbeyan) will join Green in the midfield with Sam Frost (Queanbeyan) and Josh Green (MAFC) to own the half back line. Queanbeyan Tigers players will heavily feature with Oliver Hicks (R) and Lachlan Squire (INT) also named.

AFL Canberra Umpires Aiden Fryer and Sam Nippress have been appointed as field umpires to represent the ACT in Match 3 (Gold Coast v Northern Territory) at 2.20pm.

The five matches played by the Swans and GIANTS Academies in the NAB League will act as a selection platform for the 2019 Allies squad. As such, the 2019 ‘top age’ players who are now their Draft year, will be looking to impress Allies coaches and selectors.

Both matches will be available to stream on the NAB League App.


GIANTS Academy vs. Brisbane Lions Academy

When: Saturday, March 30 at 11.55am

Where: Blacktown ISP Oval One

Live stream + stats: Download the NAB League App


B: 5. K. Flack, 24. N. Murray, 23. A. Whyte

HB: 43. S. Frost, 27. J. Green, 20. J. Reed

C: 1. H.  Grant, 25. T.  Green, 10. J.  Peatling

HF: 22. L. Conlan, 26. L. Delahunty, 19. R. Mooney

F: 4. C. Edwards, 35. J. Cullen, 2. M. Hamblin

R: 34. O. Hicks, 17. J. Lucas, 28. M. McGrory

Int: 3. J. Moen, 6. T. Organ, 12. L. Squire, 16. C. Steele, 37. D. Beavan

Keep up-to-date with all AFL Canberra related news by following us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter