2018 ActewAGL Junior Award Winners

The ActewAGL AFL Canberra Junior Presentation Night was held on Wednesday night with more than 200 people from the AFL Canberra Junior community in attendance. ActewAGL have supported local footy in the ACT for over 20 years and allow us to continue to grow our great game.

The night saw the introduction of the inaugural CareSuper Future Stars 2018 Team of the Year (Girls) to recognise the outstanding and upcoming talent of this competition. Maggie Gotham from Magpies Juniors was named as the Captain and Leo Lahey (Tuggeranong Bulldogs/Eastlake Demons) for the coach.  

You can view the full team of the year here: Future Stars Women’s – Final Team. 

The annual Prime Ministers Trophy was awarded to both the Tuggeranong Bulldogs and the Gungahlin Jets after an exceptional year of sportsmanship, inclusivity, on-field performance and overall quality of administration.

Congratulations to all of the award winners on the night. To see the full vote count leaderboard for our Best and Fairest Awards –CLICK HERE.

Name of Award




11’s Mixed Best and Fairest James Eppelstun Queanbeyan Tigers
Ian Bayles Trophy 12’s Mixed Best and Fairest Ty Quade Queanbeyan Tigers
Joe Flaherty 13’s Mixed Best and Fairest Marcus Unger Eastlake Demons
Geoff Smith Trophy 14’s Mixed Best and Fairest Ned Korsten Eastlake Demons
Peter McGregor Trophy 15’s Boys Best and Fairest Andrew Greig Tuggeranong Lions
15’s Boys Best and Fairest Joshua Fahey Queanbeyan Tigers
Geoff Bartley Trophy 17’s Boys Best and Fairest Thomas Simpson Magpies Juniors
12’s Girls Best and Fairest Casey Griggs Weston Creek Wildcats
15’s Girls Best and Fairest Khiana Smith Ainslie Tricolours
CareSuper Rising Stars Women’s Best and Fairest Cecilia Maher Eastlake Demons
Best First Year Umpire Joel Kelly
Most Improved Umpire Pierce Brennan
Ross Norgate Trophy Most Dedicated Umpire Alex Gailis
Umpire of the Year Jonathon Silver
ActewAGL Player of the Year Junior League Player of the Year Khiana Smith Ainslie Tricolours
Auskick Coordinator of the Year Trudi Fajri Weston Creek Wildcats
Prime Minister’s Trophy Club Of The Year Gungahlin Jets & Tuggeranong Bulldogs
AFL NSW/ACT Coach of the Year – Junior Greg Walker Tuggeranong Hawks
AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year Leo Lahey Tuggeranong Bulldogs